PDA

View Full Version : Collars

Roughriding Woody
08-03-2005, 10:12 PM
I am new to the e-collar training. What would be the best type of collar to buy starting out. I have been looking at the tritronics G2 series. I will only have one dog. I have never used one, but my brother in law said I will need one. So, if anyone has info or ideas let me know. Thanks

SportDogBoy
08-15-2005, 03:44 PM
alaska,

It depends on what your looking for in an e-collar. For example, range, tone feature, continuous stimulation, momentary stimulation, maybe adding another dog to the family in the future, the warranty on the products, and most important customer service after the sale. Then factoring how much you want to spend. I would look at these items and you can look at all the leading collar companies out there.

FowlDogs
08-15-2005, 03:59 PM
Kevin (a.k.a - SDB) didn't say it, but I will. Buy a SportDog collar and don't look back. I used a Tri-Tronics before getting my SportDog SD-2000 last fall. I love my SD collar.

Though I have not had a lick of problems with my collar, a few people have in the past. This is not to imply they have many problems, they don't. But just like every company out there, occassionaly an inferior product reaches the consumer. Every single one of the users that had a deffective collar that I have either personally talked to or read about has had nothing but positive comments about the customer service at SportDog. You can feel confident that buying a SportDog collar is a lifetime investment.

The SD-2000 collar sells for $279, much cheaper than many of it's competitors. However, you might also look at the SD-400 for about $149. This is a collar with less range but all of the features of its big brother.