PDA

View Full Version : Which Tri-Tronics collar?

TCFarmer
02-05-2008, 05:18 PM
I am a new member, but have been reading this forum for a couple of months now. I am a novice trainer who duck hunts, but I am planning on getting into some hunt tests with my new puppy.

I am looking for a new collar and have decided to go with the G3 Combo or the Pro 100, but can't make up my mind. I have talked to several people about this, usually coming away with you can't go wrong with either one.

I like the range, rechargeable transmitter, and carry case with the Pro 100, but am wondering if it is worth the extra money? What are the pros and cons of each?

Jason Brion
02-05-2008, 05:37 PM
I have a G3 combo and a flyway G2. I would recommend the Pro 100 EXP. I personally use the continuous stimulation more than just nicks. I would get the EXP just in case you ever want to handle more than one dog. It might not be the case now but for the extra few dollars its worth it to have the option.

Things I don't like about my G3. Seems like if I get into some thick CRP its range is very limited. I do like the ability to have the larger button used for tone. Where as on the G2 it is a small button on the back. I use this feature a lot while pheasant hunting. This is used as a come in whistle.

The G2 series has a better feel in the hand while training. The G3 can be hung from your neck with the supplied lanyerd. When it is cold the G3's buttons seem to stick a bit.

It is all a matter of what your going to use it for. But if I was only going to have one collar it would be the G2 Pro 100 EXP.

Bob Gutermuth
02-05-2008, 06:32 PM
If $$$ is an issue, go to www.collarclinic.com (http://www.collarclinic.com) and get a good reconditioned unit and save some bucks.

Steve Hester
02-05-2008, 06:34 PM
I have the Pro 100 EXP. It is a great collar, and couldn't be happier.

GulfCoast
02-05-2008, 07:53 PM