PDA

View Full Version : Essential training gear

JDub
02-10-2008, 12:39 PM
I'm looking for some input as to what would constitute essential training gear for training one hunting retriever by an amateur . It would be great if someone could offer up a list like: small bumpers (10), dokkens (mallards) (2), checkchord (30ft), etc.

TCFarmer
02-10-2008, 02:03 PM
Choke and/or pinch collar
E-collar (some won't consider it essential, some will)
Heeling stick
A Good Training Program: SmartWorks, Total Retriever, Tri-Tronics Retriever Training, Fowl Dawgs, 10 Minute Retriever, Retrievers from the Inside Out, there are more
More Bumpers
Live Birds
Bag for all your stuff.

There is a lot more, don't worry you'll be able to convince yourself that it is ALL ESSENTIAL.;-)

brian lewis
02-10-2008, 07:05 PM
I believe that you can order a bag that contains a good amount of supplies and a video from Avery.

Look at Macks Prairie Wings online site.

GBUSMCR
02-10-2008, 07:28 PM
Well, I am a rookie but offer that 3-4 dozen bumpers seems ok. I keep forgetting some in the field. About 2 dozen white, maybe a dozen Black/White and a dozen Black. The initial bunch can be all white.
TCFarmer is right, it is all essential! Training alone you need both BB and Wingers.
FWIW
Good Training

Joel Thorstad
02-10-2008, 07:53 PM
Some people never think about it but to me one of the most essential things that I always keep in my training gear is a K9 first aid kit. In it I have medical tape, a staple gun, EMT gel or spray, bandages, alcohol, amongst other things...

h2oknine
02-10-2008, 09:40 PM
lots of bumpers, whistles, leads, I start all my dogs on a pinch collar ( my preference) and a dog training club like HRC or AKC

Pheasanttomeetyou
02-11-2008, 01:11 AM