PDA

View Full Version : Sportdog E-Collar

draka1
08-19-2008, 07:00 PM
Just wondering if anyone has had any experience with SportDog collars?

blakegober
08-19-2008, 08:03 PM
I think a lot people don't like it b/c it is not Tri Tronics but I have one and have had no problems with it. I cannot give as good a review as others however b/c I only have one dog and I use it only for daily training and duck hunting. I am not a pro and don't use it for more than 30-45 min per day and have only had it for one hunting season. I am sure there are others that have had them for multiple seasons with multiple dogs who are more qualified to talk about them. I just think many people like Tri Tronics b/c of the name and not b/c it is that much superior to anything else. That is just my opinion and I am sure others have better expierence with them. My theory is for the price I can always replace it once and still come out on top b/c of the cost. Hope that helps. I would recomend it. I like the small size of the transmitter and the fact that it can clip to my waders easily. Its aslo waterproof.

DKR
08-19-2008, 08:34 PM
They suck

Bought one and have had to replace it 5 times. It's in a box in garage next to the new TT package.

TT makes a great collar

Gary Sheets
08-19-2008, 09:20 PM
Had mine for over two years the only maintenance I have had to do is charge it. I have the 1850 and the dog has tried out the waterproofness of it many times and no leaks yet.
Besides if it does break all you have to do is send it back in. Unlike some you have to send to the collar clinic once the warranty is up in a year and then pay $100.00 everytime.

GulfCoast
08-19-2008, 10:03 PM
I had one (forget the model number) that just would not hold a charge. They fixed it, but I retired it for a TT collar.

duck stamp
08-20-2008, 11:06 AM
Ive had one for 2yrs, all I do is charge it once a month and it works great.:p

mudflapimmc
08-20-2008, 11:24 AM