PDA

View Full Version : Tritronics vs. Sport Dog

crw910
09-23-2008, 08:02 AM
I am a beginner at this and my trainer is reccomending that I use the tritronics flyway G2 for my pup when he gets out of training. Ive looked at it and that $400 looks awful painful for a college student. Does the sport dog have a collar that is equally reliable and good?

Keith Stroyan
09-23-2008, 08:41 AM
Dogtra 1800 is a reliable collar in my experience. Check prices, for example:

http://stores.mclabstrainingsupplies.com/Categories.bok?category=E-Collars

I replaced an older Flyway with that when the TT died pre-maturely. I have no experience with reliability of the newest models of TT or with Sport Dog.

Do a search on collars. There have been several discussions on this topic.

badbullgator
09-23-2008, 09:53 AM
Spend the money and get the TT. They are the standard by which all others are judged. IN the long run it will be worth it. I have used TT for about 20 years now with no problems what so ever. Do a search as suggested and I think you will end up going with the TT

GulfCoast
09-23-2008, 10:37 AM
IMHO, buying something less expensive that you will eventually have to replace, or send back for warranty work, etc is a "false savings." I have been there with SportDog. There is a reason Tri-Tronics and Dogtra dominate the market.

Stephen Smith
09-23-2008, 11:06 AM
I've been using e-collars since 1989 (TT). Up until last week I was still training with TT (pro 100 G2). I've been selling sportdog's for about 5 years. I have had some problems with TT over the last 19 years, not too bad. I've sold too many sportdog's to count (many different models). I've had three that have had problems. Both companys stand behind products good. If I was going to buy a new collar. I would look at the sportdog 2500 about $290.00.

crw910
09-23-2008, 11:27 AM