PDA

View Full Version : Change? Really??????

K G
11-20-2008, 07:29 AM
The more things "change," the more they remain the same.

http://www.comcast.net/articles/news-general/20081120/Obama.Cabinet/

From one frying pan into another regards,

kg

Marvin S
11-20-2008, 11:54 AM
My question - Don't we have someone besides people with Law degrees capable of doing these jobs? Lawyers provide few value added solutions to any issue. They are not, by profession, capable of establishing a principled stand & sticking with it.

TBS - I recognize it is imperative that those appointed are capable administrators, government is not the easiest maze to navigate. Experience does help, but aren't there experienced individuals of other professions available?

But, we had O'Neil, Snow & Paulsen for Treasury Secretary's in the Bush Admin, with only Snow having some government experience. Look at what that bought us!!!

:-x :-x :confused: :confused: :-x :-x

Gerry Clinchy
11-20-2008, 03:56 PM
If the most influential people in Obama's administration will be just more of the same old career politicians, how is this change? Same old "good ole boys" group exchanging favors for each other :-(

Paul Johnson
11-20-2008, 04:11 PM
My question - Don't we have someone besides people with Law degrees capable of doing these jobs? Lawyers provide few value added solutions to any issue. They are not, by profession, capable of establishing a principled stand & sticking with it.

The reason we have so many lawyers is that they are experts in dancing on the head of a pin. In other words, they spent their years in law school learning how to make a speech that says absolutely nothing while the audience believes they heard what they want to believe. Our president elect is a prime example -- people heard what they wanted to believe, not what he actually said.

Joe S.
11-20-2008, 06:43 PM