PDA

View Full Version : Tri-tronics question



James Potter
02-25-2009, 01:09 PM
Want recommendations on a tri-tronics collar for training labs. Should i go with the sport or go with the flyway? I used the classic 70 for coonhounds so the bulkiness of the flyway is no big deal to me.

Thank You

James

GulfCoast
02-25-2009, 02:10 PM
Get one with a tube style transmitter. You will eventually end up with a Pro 500, so I would go there first! :D

Jason Glavich
02-25-2009, 02:49 PM
I have to agree, but the EXP's are really nice 6 dog capable and only around 300.

John Lash
02-25-2009, 04:43 PM
Get one with a tube style transmitter. You will eventually end up with a Pro 500, so I would go there first! :D


What he said... The 500 is expandable to 3 dogs too, most only use it as 1 dog at a time.

John Lash

Thomas D
02-25-2009, 05:59 PM
6 dog capable?

John Lash
02-25-2009, 07:34 PM
6 dog capable?

Yep...

http://www.tritronics.com/remotetrainers-G2fieldseries.html#CLASSIC70G2

I would need a map and someone to help keep track of who was who with six.


John Lash

James Potter
02-26-2009, 08:29 AM
The classic and trashbreaker which are intended for hounds. I have owned both are for up to 6 dogs. The flyway and upland are for up to 3 dogs.

clint
02-26-2009, 01:41 PM
all the above is good advice. any collar tritronics makes is great. all the rest is just personal preference.

clint
www.hometownretrievers.com

birdboy
02-26-2009, 10:57 PM
I've had the G3 Sport Basic for about a year and a half and have had no complaints with it. Tritronics make a great product and you cant go wrong with any of them.

Brad B
02-27-2009, 08:06 PM
The Flyway is a perfect starter collar and I'm still using mine for three dogs now. I've had it for about 7 years with no complaints.

chill5500
03-24-2009, 05:12 PM
I made the mistake of not asking first and bought the Classic G2EXP with the thought I would need it for multiple dogs in the future like with a pointer & retriever. I have recently learned that it has no momentary or (nick) as trainers call it only continuous if thats how u spell it. But I still use it and it works great just not perfectly suited for retriever training.

Kristie Wilder
03-24-2009, 05:39 PM
A lot of us hardly use momentary. You can simulate a nick with a quick tap of the continuous button. It's not THAT much different that you really need the momentary button. So you should be just fine. I have had some more sensitive dogs, where I will put it on momentary, but in your case, you can just dial down a level and do the simulated nick with the continuous button...

-K