PDA

View Full Version : Gunners UP SOG Winger Coupled to New Dogtra Deluxe Remote Release

jpurban
06-06-2009, 12:36 AM
I'm training my first retriever and I've spent lots of time on this site learning from everyone as well as reading various product reviews. So, I thought I'd give back a little. As you read this, please bear in mind this is just one man's opinion... at one point in time. I'm sure better products will come along in the years to come.

Since I'm not a pro trainer, own only one dog and train by myself most of the time, I've been looking for a solution that will help me ("cost") effectively mark my dog out in the field as we work our way through a yard program. I did lots of research and shopping around and finally settled on a couple of Gunners Up SOG Wingers coupled to the new Dogtra Deluxe Remote Releases.

Why did I pick those items? I went with a Winger design because I only train 1 dog and wanted to throw both birds and bumpers. If I had more than one dog, I might have looked at Bumper Boy more closely, but that would be a difficult choice because the simple nature of the winger design makes it so darn reliable (I'm an engineer and just love the simplicity). I read several reviews about BB's needing servos, having issues with wiring harnesses, etc.

I chose Gunners Up because I was looking for a cost effective solution. I know Zinger has a great reputation, but I failed to find a reason to pay extra. The recent reviews I read by folks familiar with both brands indicated the differences were small, but Zinger had an edge on quality. The quality of the GU SOG looks pretty good to me. So, the Zingers must be quite impressive.