PDA

View Full Version : Gotta Love The Banks

Gerry Clinchy
10-16-2009, 05:42 PM
At least they are up-front about their motives.

I just got one of those fine-print "Change of Terms" notices from Chase. At the very end under "Other Notices" it clearly states:
"The principal factor we considered in amending your account is maintaining profitability on your account.";-)

Among the reasons they can choose to close my account is "account inactivity".

I guess the name of the game is not how responsibly you use credit anymore. It's more a matter of how much profit they can make on you. They make the most money when you take cash advances; and even more if you then make a late payment. Since I don't do that, I'm not a very profitable customer, so they'd rather not have me as a customer at all.

In the end, they end up with a lot of high-profit customers ... but maybe also a lot of high-risk customers. They make a nice profit until the house of cards collapses. Is there something about this "business plan" that sounds famililar?

subroc
10-16-2009, 05:55 PM
Outrageous!

A business that wants to make money.

dnf777
10-16-2009, 06:00 PM
Outrageous!

A business that wants to make money.

No problem with that premise......but what about when they screw the pooch because they cut people like Gerry, and extend credit to manic shoppers to get a short term blip on their books....and come to me and you with their hat in their hands, asking for our tax dollars?

Capitalism is a double edged sword. They want capitalist profits, then socialized losses. BS if you ask me.

Gerry Clinchy
10-16-2009, 06:28 PM
They want capitalist profits, then socialized losses

Yes, Subroc, this is what I object to: a business practice designed to have more high-risk customers, then crashing under the load if the economy gets tough,going back to the responsible people (the low-risk customers they didn't want) for tax money to solve their problems.