PDA

View Full Version : Which duck calls for a newbie?

birdhunter66
10-21-2009, 01:57 PM
I am a newbie to duck hunting and was wanting to purchase a couple of duck calls for Mallards and Wood Ducks mostly. Any recommendations? I read the thread below but still unsure on what to get. I want something that works and calls ducks so it doesn't have to be real expensive unless its just that good. I'm also wanting a laynard for my calls any recommendations on that as well would be helpful. Thanks

feetdownhonkers
10-23-2009, 10:00 PM
Birdhunter ! there are a lot of calls depending on what you want to spend ? Basically if it sounds like a duck and makes all the notes ! you can kill birds . I can recommend a couple of guys on Ebay to buy from that I've dealt with and for the money you cant go wrong . I've bought a few calls from them that sell for $ 125 - $ 150 for under 40 bucks and they scream . As far as lanyards go ? most of them are the same but I would try to go with something adjustable . I personally don't like to have my calls banging against each other so ! Most of it is preference but I'd be more then glad to help you out . Shoot me a PM and I can give you some info .

Fowlfeller1100
10-24-2009, 06:56 PM
I'm going to guess that since you mentioned wood ducks you aren't hunting a very open area. I would suggest a double reed as they are easier to sound "ducky" with, take a hard look at the primos wench and/or the haydel dr 85 both are 15-20$ and would fit the bill (no pun intended) .

Huff
10-24-2009, 07:46 PM
for a cheap call that is really nice sounding, you can't beat haydels DR-85. Haydels also makes a killer wood duck call that is along the same price, under $20 each.

Russell

Rick Hall
10-25-2009, 10:09 AM
Everyone's physiology, methodology and tone preferences differ, so there is no "one call that fits all". But it's a very safe bet that Haydel's DR-85 is the one mallard call that has fit the most.