PDA

View Full Version : eruption caused global warming?

subroc
04-16-2010, 04:42 PM
Has anyone read any eruption caused global warming data? What can we expect? What has the eruption done to the co2 numbers? How will these eruptions affect all reflective gasses?

Any info?

Terry Britton
04-16-2010, 04:55 PM
Yes. And a lot of eruptions under the Caribbean created a lot of Hurricanes a few years ago. There is a lot of data compiled from various sources at www.iceagenow.com .

Blackstone
04-16-2010, 05:02 PM
I heard this morning that we might expect a cooler, wetter summer as a result of the eruption. That's fine with me. I'll save on AC and watering the grass. :)

Koolaid
04-16-2010, 05:17 PM
Volcano eruptions would cause cooling, not warming. I'm no expert in the area, but I would assume it has to do with the dark soot filled clouds absorbing heat from the sun before it has the chance to reach the surface.

Buzz
04-16-2010, 08:16 PM
While the particulates are floating around it may cause cooling. Then once they settle out, the CO2 is still there to do it's thing, or not...

bfosmark
04-16-2010, 08:54 PM
Has anyone read any eruption caused global warming data? What can we expect? What has the eruption done to the co2 numbers? How will these eruptions affect all reflective gasses?

Any info?

I am no expert but I think volcanic eruptions actually causes cooling.
The sulfur that is emitted into the atmosphere in a volcanic eruption has the opposite effect of the "greenhouse" gases.

subroc
04-17-2010, 08:04 AM
well, here is an article that claims global warming has caused the eruptions.

Using logic, man is responsible for global warming therefore man is responsible for the eruptions as well.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20100416/wl_nm/us_iceland_volcano_climate

Koolaid
04-17-2010, 09:57 AM
"They said there was no sign that the current eruption from below the Eyjafjallajokull glacier that has paralysed flights over northern Europe was linked to global warming"