PDA

View Full Version : i am not an engineer......

david gibson
05-31-2010, 08:38 PM
...but i am a petroleum geophysicist/geologist by degree and spent 2 yrs on offshore oil rigs as a roughneck between high school and college, on floaters, and i have sat my ass on a BOP and tightened bolts on riser pipe many times. so - i am not an expert, but i have a pretty damn good idea of what is going on here, more than the average joe. in addition i have designed and supervised some pretty complicated water wells on Guam. i realize its not the same as an oil well, just saying i understand well casing design. although a water well doesnt have the "blowout" potential, you still better have good well design to prevent cross-contamination via annulus and artesian conditions etc.

so, anyone here who is a petroleum engineer - can you tell me why this well could not be controlled by:

1) completely cutting or blowing the BOP off the well head. now we have a well gushing from the surface casing as opposed to from a broken end of the riser pipe. BUT - now, with a semi-submersible positioned in the original well position, why couldnt they insert a string of pipe - guided by theremote controlled subs of course - into the well head - with a packer that can open up and seal the well? casing packers are a common tool!!!!!!!! open it up, pump in cement, SEALED.

or - in the absence of a suitable expandable packer - in a day or two you could manufacture a metal cone. lets say the surface casing is 36". make a metal cone that tapers from a point to 35.75 in. over a distance of 40 feet or so. simple - could be made at any number of NOV Varco or any othjer metal fabricating plant here in Houston in a couple of days, and i am sure there aqre plenty cloer in new orleans. cram that thing in the well head after blowing the BOP off as above, then fill with cement. SEALED.