PDA

View Full Version : Public Employees - R they Overpaid?

Marvin S
07-25-2010, 07:53 PM
I read comments by posters - saying this or that particular area of the public sector is not paid enough. These comments are generally devoid of facts, but the posters continue their postings.

Name a particular skill set, justify why they are paid what they receive, I'm sure there will be a rebuttal or two ;-).

BonMallari
07-25-2010, 08:41 PM
IMHO public secondary and elementary school teachers are underpaid....but public employees like Congress persons are overpaid based on their salaries and compensation packages (both ethical and unethical)

subroc
07-25-2010, 08:52 PM
Nuclear Engineers are probably underpaid compared to thier power plant counterparts.

Brad Turner
07-25-2010, 09:06 PM
As a middle school teacher, I will say that good teachers are under-paid and bad teachers are over-paid.

Natasha.Hall
07-26-2010, 12:50 AM
I think that there are a lot of public positions that are overpaid. The problem though is that the govt. is contracting out to the private sector the private employees end up getting paid WAY more than the govt positions. This means that good public employees leave the public sector to work in the private sector and the govt. is paying it regardless. We get less competent employees working government jobs and it costs us more in training them.

As a high school teacher I can tell you that most districts are underpaid and overworked and being burdened by a failed "no child left behind" program that is NOT teaching our students.

charly_t
07-26-2010, 01:37 AM