PDA

View Full Version : Thunder Equipment: Thunder 1000 Launcher

Lyle Steinman
11-16-2010, 05:49 AM
I am wondering how many people have and use the Thunder 1000? If so can you tell me the pro's & con's ?

Also do you use the Dogtra or Tri-Tronics release?

Thanks for the help.

Lyle
816-5229650

born2retrieve
11-16-2010, 03:33 PM
Lyle,
I have two 10 shooters now. I think they are the best out there. I had a few problems but I have fixed every problem myself. No down time. I like them so much that I plan on getting two more. I had bumper boys in the past and max 5000s. I like dogtra but tri-tronics is just as good.

Greg

fetchtx
11-16-2010, 03:44 PM
I just have one 500, but will most likely order a 10 shooter soon also. I use tri tronics and am always amazed at how long the mapp gas lasts and the dogs love them. Very reliable product compared to the Max 5000 which I personally had many problems with.

Donald Flanagan
11-18-2010, 01:30 PM
I'm new to this, and my experience is limited, so take this opinion with a grain of salt.

A friend of mine just recently purchased one. I've only used it twice, but here are my thoughts. When standing close to it, the noise seems loud, but at a distance of 100 yards, it sounds like a "thoop" to me (as opposed to a nice "crack" made by a popper). It does get the dog's attention, though. One interesting, positive point to this is that we used it in a public place- a large field adjacent to several rural neighborhoods where people walk their dogs, etc. We only received one complaint, and that was about running the dogs off-lead, and not about the noise! Nobody called the cops, and that's probably because it doesn't sound like a gunshot.