PDA

View Full Version : Dept of ED est 1979

luvmylabs23139
02-08-2011, 11:19 AM
OK, I have a few questions for those who believe the Dept of ED is a good use of taxpayer money.
Did you go to school before or after the dept of ED was actually up and running?
The dept of ED was esablished in 1979 and became effective in May 1980 which means that in reality nothing was effective until at least school year for a graduating class of at least 1982.
Schools seem to me to be a heck of alot worse since I was a student.
Admitting my age, I graduated high school in 1981.
Many of the issues I see reported in the news have nothing to do with education and everything to do with the behavior of students.
We didn't have police in the schools nor the need for them.
We had a 99.95% graduation rate.
What has changed and how did the dept of ED help or hinder this?

road kill
02-08-2011, 11:23 AM
OK, I have a few questions for those who believe the Dept of ED is a good use of taxpayer money.
Did you go to school before or after the dept of ED was actually up and running?
The dept of ED was esablished in 1979 and became effective in May 1980 which means that in reality nothing was effective until at least school year for a graduating class of at least 1982.
Schools seem to me to be a heck of alot worse since I was a student.
Admitting my age, I graduated high school in 1981.
Many of the issues I see reported in the news have nothing to do with education and everything to do with the behavior of students.
We didn't have police in the schools nor the need for them.
We had a 99.95% graduation rate.
What has changed and how did the dept of ED help or hinder this?

We didn't need Police....we had to answer to our parents!!:shock:

RK

Blackstone
02-08-2011, 11:38 AM

RK