PDA

View Full Version : K9 Kondo ?

Cray Stephenson
08-13-2003, 09:01 AM
Does anyone here use any of the dog house that are made by this company? http://www.k-9kondo.com

If so, what are your opinions on them?

I have been using "Ruff" houses for about 2 1/2 years and have had 3 destroyed in that time period. I am considering getting the Circle Den or the original K9 Kondo. Any suggestions?

Cray

FOM
08-13-2003, 11:09 AM
My friend has 4 Condos, the barrel kind. He's had them for about 3 years and 2 of his dogs are chewers. They work pretty good. Even the black mutt will go inside them...

FOM

Cray Stephenson
08-13-2003, 11:47 AM
Thanks Lainee.

I am considering the barrel kind and the circle den. The circle has insulation...don't know that it would be a benefit over the barrels in the milder winters we have here. I like the platform that they have on the barrel type too.

Cray

FOM
08-13-2003, 01:22 PM
We would throw straw into the barrels in the winter, the dogs seemed to stay warm enough. We also used plastic barrels rather than metal ones because the metal gets too hot in the summer.

FOM

Thomas D
08-13-2003, 04:34 PM
I have the regular Kondo and the dog loves it. Easy to assemble and stays cleen. In the summer he's on top and winter he's inside. Has insulation also. The only thing I had to modify is the latch to keep the roof on. It is at eye level on the outside of the Kondo. The Kondo is inside the kennel and there is enough room for him to squeeze between the kennel fence and the Kondo. Maybe dangerous, maybe not but I took it off. The one I have you can pay 20 bucks and get it partially assembled. It's worth it.

WRL
08-13-2003, 05:22 PM
Hey Cray,

I use the barrels. The dogs really love them.

BUT I didn't spend that much on them.

I did buy some food grade plastic 55 gal barrels from my feed store. Took a jigsaw to the end of them and cut off 2/3 of the end with a small lip to keep the straw I put in them from spilling out.