PDA

View Full Version : **** WARNING **** Beware of Scammers lurking RTF



Colt Farrington
05-02-2013, 10:41 AM
I had this email exchange this morning after I posted the ad for my dog trailer on RTF.




Todd Allen <toddlerking@gmail.com>;

Good to hear back from you, i am located in Ohio. i am buying the 11 Hole Stainless Trailer for my dad as a surprise gift, i am okay with the price, i am a marine engineer at this moment i am presently working offshore,sometimes access to regular emails and phone calls are very poor in offshore due to inefficiency of phone and internet connections, more so we are often constrain from accessing the internet or making phone calls, i insisted on PayPal because i don't have access to my bank account online and i don't have internet banking too, but i can pay from my PayPal account as i have my bank a/c attached to it, if you don't have PayPal account yet, it is very easy to set up, i will like you to go on to http://www.paypal.com and get it set up.you don't need to bother yourself about the shipment because i have a pick-up agent that will come for the pick-up they will also determine and secure the shipment, get back to me with your PayPal email address so that i can make the payment, i will also need you to provide me with the following information in order to facilitate the payment.




1.Your Full name.

2.Your PayPal Email Address.

3.Your phone number.







Kind Regards.




On Thu, May 2, 2013 at 2:15 PM, Colt Farrington <coltfarrington@yahoo.com> wrote:





Colt Farrington <coltfarrington@yahoo.com> wrote:

>The asking price is $6000. Paypal may be an option, I'll have to investigate. Where are you located?


From: Todd Allen <toddlerking@gmail.com>
To: coltfarrington@yahoo.com
Sent: Thursday, May 2, 2013 8:45 AM
Subject: 11 Hole Stainless Trailer






Hello Seller,

I want to buy this 11 Hole Stainless Trailer,and need to know how much are you asking for it? and please i can only pay using Paypal.




Have a nice day.




Then found this http://www.pianomart.com/blog/resources/scammers-of-the-we/

Number 3 on the list

Scammers of the Week

James Apia apiajames2@hotmail.com 04.25.13
Jude Daniels judedaniels78@yahoo.com 04.25.13
Todd toddlerking@gmail.com 04.22.13
Peter pampeter41@yahoo.com 04.19.13
Robyn Wallis robyn_wallis@yahoo.com 04.17.13
William Aiden william_aiden01@outlook.com 04.04.13
Palluch Bart palluchbart@yahoo.com 03.21.13
Ben Wyatt wyatt.ben01@outlook.com 03.18.13
Adams Speed adams_speed1000@yahoo.com 03.09.13
Kenneth Hill kennethhil40@gmail.com 03.07.13
Henry Wyatt henrywyatt35@yahoo.com 03.06.13
Bucknurtray bucknurtray@yahoo.com 03.02.13
James Muller jamesmuller02@yahoo.com 02.26.13
Lorraine Schwartz lorraine_schwartz01@yahoo.com 02.25.13
Larry Brown larry_brown002@yahoo.com 02.24.13
Ascom Smith ascom_smith900@yahoo.com 02.24.13
Allan Cole allancolemg@yahoo.com 02.13.13
Robert Louis robertlouis36@yahoo.com 02.11.13
etc



Be careful out there

Jay-Bird
05-02-2013, 10:50 AM
I had this exact reply and another similar one on KIJIJI when selling my boat.

Paulshrly
05-02-2013, 11:15 AM
Exact same one sent to me on a Craigslist ad

Salmonbum
05-02-2013, 11:25 AM
I just got hit with toddlerking

fishin444
05-02-2013, 12:05 PM
The tip off should have been that he will have his agent come by and pick up. Next they offer you more to pay the agent, but you will need to wire or send that money to him. I've had a couple of them try this tactic with me. Look for them to also to refer your post as goods or items and normally not by it's proper name.

RCO
05-02-2013, 01:14 PM
Sellers beware...

pstrombeck
05-02-2013, 09:19 PM
Todd Allen emailed me earlier this evening trying to set up a PayPal transaction for the DogDen I have for sale. Called him a thief and blew him off - World is full of scum.

FOM
05-03-2013, 09:35 AM
I've made this a sticky for now, so others can see this info and it doesn't get lost...

Pudelpointer
05-24-2013, 09:30 AM
I had the exact same message when I was selling my boat. I called the guy out and he got very nasty. Did some research on line and seems this guy gets around quite a bit.

setterpete
07-12-2013, 07:19 PM
I had the same scam attempted on me from a Craigslist posting but they sent texts to my cel phone. I got suspicious when they offered full asking price and responded to my text at 5am EST when their phone number had a Utah area code. I told the guy I sold it for cash later that day after he took a while to respond to my text. Never heard from him again. Scammer's phone number is 801-683-9278. BEWARE!!!