RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

How much is enough?? (Breeding)

5K views 25 replies 16 participants last post by  az hunter 
#1 ·
I am new to breeding and would like to know how many times per day is enough. I don't have the time to go to a vet and and have the tests done right now. She just stopped her period a few days ago and she is willing and he is ready. What do I need to know or do? Any help would be great.

#3 ·
Ok ya you got me. I guess I should have specified "dog (k9)" breeding

#5 ·
If you haven't got the time to go to a vet at this stage then I think the wisest thing you can do is NOT breed your bitch, until you do have the time and have put the proper research into it. Have you had the time to make sure all the relevant health tests have been done? (hips/elbows/eyes/CNM/EIC/PRA on both sire and dam) Have you fully researched the pedigrees?

If you think going to the vet for a blood test is time-consuming then just wait until your litter is 3 weeks old and is a full time job for you weaning and cleaning up after them.... :eek:

I'm sorry, but I think this breeding plan needs a whole lot more thought than just chucking your two dogs together for a few days :(

#9 ·
I agree that all clearances should be complete before a breeding takes place. However it is a little high brow to state a breeding shouldn't happen simply because ovulation isn't pinpointed. Because of turnaround time of the hormone tests my vet felt it was of little value for natural breeding(I live in a very rural area). Now if you add the cost of frozen and surgical AI then it would be foolish to proceed without the tests.

To reanswer the original question. One tie then skip a day then another tie is the standard procedure here.

#10 ·