The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How far along should we be

Default How far along should we be

Pup will be 3 months 10/4. i am new to this training myself thing. Usng smartwork and just curious how far we should be. My job has been brutal with hours but doing what we can....Very smart pup with good lines and has basic obedience down for the most part with treat training...if alot is going on around than it takes a lil more.....doing the training myself so some of the drills are not possible, stickmen..etc....

Throw away the timeline. What happens at what age doesn't matter at all...first, your puppy needs to be a puppy and have fun. Pick a program, and then take your time following it. There is no rush, and there is no "should be doing xyz at x months".
    Sharon Potter

www.redbranchkennels.net

Chesapeake Bay Retrievers...too many to list.

Team Huntsmith

thats what i figure.....some of the vids show alreadt trained dogs and it drives me nuts....and it seems most books/timelines have some odd things at early ages unless they are thinking you train everyday for a while...which s unrealistic for me...i do get her out everyday to do at least something.

I agree 100% with Sharon. In my opinion, 6 months is when it starts to get more serious. Up until then, let that baby be a puppy. Get it house broken and make sure it knows that y'all are buddies, partners, and friends, though you're the boss...Get him used to riding in the pick up, loud noises, and socialize him with other dogs. You can also work a little on sit and walking with him on lead.