The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Marks during force work

Default Marks during force work

What do most pros do with marking during force work? Do y'all continue to throw marks during force fetch if not when do you pick back up throwing marks? I've done it both ways and think it depends on the dog but just wanted your opinion since you've seen more dogs and the pros and cons of it.

I'm not a pro but, I've always felt it was important to balance out the force in the yard with marks in the field. I think it helps keep the attitude up overall and makes the yard work a bit easier.

Some dogs tolerate marks just fine during FF.. Many others tend to break all the acceptable standards while acquiring this skill set. If marking is breaking down the skills you're trying to build stop marking until you have standards in place to correct these errors.

Evan
    "Prepare your dog in such a manner that the work he is normally called upon to do under-whelms him, not overwhelms him." ~ Evan Graham

“People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it.”

― George Bernard Shaw

The Smartwork System for Retriever Training (link)
    http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?...59&ref=profile

Evan- Please explain in more detail. I am a day or two from having the same issue to confront. What marking standards at this stage do you consider inviolate.

I am using SmartWorks by the way and am very pleased so far. Another session or two of "Hold" and I will be on to ear pinch.

what if they start mouthing issues while marking in the field during force fetch? whatcha gonna do?