The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media

Thread: New to training and starting with a 6 month old lab

Default New to training and starting with a 6 month old lab

Like the title says I'm new to all this! I've been messing around with the idea of training my black lab puppy to become a house dog as well as a duck dog. I have made the decision to start training him and to take him out hunting with me. He will be six months old Nov. 22. I hope this is not too late to start training him! Any and all feed back is much appreciated. I have been teaching him to sit, stay and come, but not in any formal manner. I recently purchased the Tom Dokken puppy training kit from gundogsupply.com. He is a very smart pup I just hope it's not too late to get started with training. We have also been throwing a tennis ball to him and he retrieves it and brings it back like a pro but I'm sure I probably shouldn't be doing that anymore. He's already been introduced to water and loves it. I got the dog from my girlfriends high school friend who lives in Salisbury, MD. They live on a farm and the mother is a hunting dog for their family. He was fortunate enough to go swimming with his litter mates and momma in the Chesapeake bay at a very young age to he takes to water like a fish. Again any feed back on how to get started and anything I should do or not do! Thanks and I look forward to hearing some good news about getting him grabbing up ducks in no time!
    image.jpgGunner.