The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Teaching a dog to use its nose?

Default Teaching a dog to use its nose?

My 2yo YLM is doing great this year during duck season but he has some trouble searching for cripples/left birds. If he marks them no problem and if I mark them no problem but have 2-3 go down and not getting an exact mark on it or if is not dead is what I am running into. Can walk him out to area but he doesn't seem to search for it. Can literally walk him on top of bird until he sees it won't even know its there. Any help on getting him to hunt em up.
    Lone Oak's Marley Man.. (My first)

I'm no expert or pro, but I'm also going through the same training with a new hunting dog - also a 2YO YLM.

Here's what I've been doing, and it's definitely helping:

I've been practicing/training after my actual hunts by placing dead birds in brush (away from my dog), and then bringing the dog over to work the areas. I get him in the general vicinity (but at little distance) and say "Dead - hunt." The first couple of times, he just kind of jumped around and looked confused, but after discovering a duck or two and getting significant praise, he began to put it together.

He's still learning how to use his nose more efficiently (with the wind, etc.), but after just a few hunts, he's 200% better. Hope this helps.

I use the command find it. You can do what Selous said or what we do with puppies is hide their food somewhere in the yard and then walk them out on lead. When they start to get a snout full of the smell we drop the lead and give the command you want them to associate with using their nose. Fun game that gets them using their nose quick.