The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Training with dead birds question

Default Training with dead birds question

Ok so I am newbie here. I will be picking up my great little pup next week and have been going over some of the training material and it got me thinking. When introducing the dog to dead birds is it ok to use them and then just freeze them, and then thaw for another training session. IF this is the case how long can you use a bird.

First welcome and best wishes for success!
    There are others here that know much more than i
    If the pup is truly the weeks old baby lets leave the birds in the freezer.
    Use a sock , a paint roller , then a small canvass bumper.
    Socialization and obedance with a liberal dose of understanding
    Birds come later and then only in small doses.
    Good luck
    Dk

Yea I know we are no where near ready for dead birds these is just to feed my obsession of learning as much as I can so I can plan my future training session. I am a big planner.

Thanks for the info please keep it coming.

With 1 dog , if you use bumpers for most of your water work and dont let the core un-thaw , you can gets a lot of re-use out of it.

In my experience (limited) once you get through FF , you can take the bird straight out of the freezer and use it, then return it.
    Last edited by shawninthesticks; 12-09-2013 at 10:19 PM.
    Shawn White

HR Big Creek Retrievers Independence Day JH QAA "Indy "

Yes u can thaw and refreeze birds. How long they last depends on the weather and how long they are out and being used. In the winter I usually take out of the freezer and leave in the garage late the night before use. In the summer I take out of the freezer when I get up.
    In the winter they last a long time. In the summer not as long. Maybe a week or so. But I run multiple