The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media

Thread: any and all Tips for A first timer?

Default any and all Tips for A first timer?

Hello Everyone,

My name is Steve and this is my first day as a member of this forum. I have a five month old chocolate Lab named BUB. This is my first time training a gun dog and I have a lot to learn! I live in Alaska so there is not as many resources available locally as say the states. I have got some great help from a couple of buddies in the area who do great with there dogs, and have way more expierence then me. However I hate to over use there help because they have there dogs to train. In short I would very much appreciate any and all tips/recommendations any body could provide for a first time trainer. It is quickly becoming a passion and I love my dog so i don't want to screw this up!

Thank You All,

Steve and BUB

Get a good book/video training program. Smartworks by Evan Graham is good.
    Carolina American Water Spaniels

HRCH UH Carolina's Duck Gumbo MHA SHR RN WDS CGC TDI (Gumbo) 1000 Point Club
    UH HR GCH Carolina's Wild March Hare SH JHR RAE OA OAJ WDX CGC TDI (Bunny)
    HR CH Carolina's Running with the Hare SH JHR RN WDX CGC (Blew)

Welcome Steve and Bub!! Lots of good info and helpful folks here. Good luck to you and your new addition with whatever path you two choose.
    Last edited by RJW; 01-16-2014 at 07:26 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by aksteve&bub View Post
    Hello Everyone,