The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello, and thank you from Iowa

Default Hello, and thank you from Iowa

My family has a new addition, a 3 month old chessie named Reagan. We picked her up at 8 wks. and things have been going well so far. A few bumps in the road with OB and house training but nothing out of the ordinary. I am not a breeder nor do I run field trials or hunt tests. I do hunt but not anything that I need a dog for and I am new to that as well. Iowa has been in a slump for several years on upland game, but who knows I may give ducks a go at some point.
    I found this site while researching retriever training mostly for the sake of Reagan than myself, I find her to be eager and quick to learning and I was impressed greatly by her breeds heritage. It has been 10 to 15 years since my wife and I had a pup and although wonderful, I will admit we forgot exactly how much work it is. I need to get my post count up to get in contact with someone about a program I would like to purchase in the classifieds. As I am hear to learn rather than teach, I figured an intro and a Thank You for the literally 10's of hours of reading I have done so far was as good a way to get going as any.

Welcome aboard, as your journey is just beginning you will find more information than you might want here. It seems you know how addictive it can be already. Most all is good, but remember we, or most of us all started out where you are. Enjoy the ride.
    HRCH TilHe CallsUsHome ~ Tilly

Thank you, very much. My eyes have been close to bleeding a couple nights already. I enjoy learning as much as my pup.

Nailbender, You should consider joining a retriever club. Even if you don't run any games, you'll meet other trainers. There are clubs in Cedar Rapids, Des Moines and members scattered around the State.