The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie in search of answers!

Default Newbie in search of answers!

Good evening folks. My name is Chris and I am a beginner at the hunt test sport. I had purchased a yellow lab female back in 2012 but due to my military orders/deployments I gave her to my good friend in Texas who has been doing this for years. He said I can have her back whenever I wanted her but as a friend of his I would not do such a thing after he has all this time and money invested in her training. So I have decided that by the end of this year or early 2015 I will be in search of bringing home a new puppy. I have been in talkings with Chris Akin's wife and I have his contact information and I will be in touch with him soon. The reason why I am posting this is to get as much knowledge as I can from you all. my goals/what i want out of my pup is a bird dog but I also want to dive in to the Hunt Test world. I would love to have a MH dog. That is my goal. As far as a training program, what are some recommendations or information can you all share with someone like myself who is just starting out. I have the Chris Akin DDB DVD's and I had the Mike Lardy's TRT before I sold them.(I also had a hard time understanding Mike Lardy; Wasn't easy for this rookie) I want to gain a lot of knowledge before the puppy arrives so I that way he/she will have nothing but success. Thank you guys. All the help is appreciated.

V/R,

Chris

Did you have TRT 2d edition? Some beginners
    prefer Smartworks by Evan Graham. Also there is Fowl Dogs by Rick Stawski.

For the young ones I like Sound Beginning DVD by Jackie Mertens and Training a Retr. Puppy by Bill Hillman.

Lardy has some very good written material that is a complication of his Retriever Journal articles. Vol. 1 is excellent for beginners and it is only $30. See banner above.