The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Where should I be in my puppy training?

Default Where should I be in my puppy training?

Hey guys (and girls), I'm new to retriever training and new here. Just been lurking for the last few months and reading all the threads to try and further my knowledge. Just got my first pup a black lab named Nelli. She is 14 weeks old tomorrow. I've been following Tom Dokkens book and she is doing okay with training.

She loves to retrieve. Doesn't always bring it right back to me but most of the time she does. She never wants to give up the toy or bumper, at first I was just praising and taking it away from her, I shouldn't have because she started trying to run past me with it because she knew I was gonna take it. Now I'm just catching her and praising until she drops it. She has Come down good, good enough to where I feel confident enough to use it outside without a check cord from a good distance. She'll perk up and come running straight to me every time. She learned sit when she was about 8 weeks old without treats, but since them she stopped doing it on command. Went back to using treats and she caught back on. We just started on working on Down and she will now do it on command for her treat. But after she gets the treat for sitting or down she just stands back up. Won't stay there. I feel like this is okay for her age?

My question is.. How much do your pups know before starting their formal training around 6 months?

I have a lot more questions but I'll just start with that.
    Last edited by Chasintail; 02-18-2014 at 02:47 AM.

Gonna start working on Place today. Also, she'll kennel if she's close enough to it, other times she'll just look at me and I'll have to move her to where she's facing it then she'll go in.