The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media

Thread: Picking up where we left off?

Default Picking up where we left off?

I have a four year old female lab that I started training as a puppy and then stopped when life got in the way (husband had two surgeries and daughter had a baby). She has two junior legs and is a good hunting dog but nowhere close to finished and I would like to start up her training again. Do I pick up where we left off or back up a bit? I will be using Smartworks since I already own the series and find it pretty easy to follow.

Start with refreshers and see what has been retained. Go for it and have fun. The time is right.
    A cold nose feels good on a hot day.....
    Majestic Oaks Liberty Belle JH

Quote Originally Posted by huntingchef View Post
    I have a four year old female lab that I started training as a puppy and then stopped when life got in the way (husband had two surgeries and daughter had a baby). She has two junior legs and is a good hunting dog but nowhere close to finished and I would like to start up her training again. Do I pick up where we left off or back up a bit? I will be using Smartworks since I already own the series and find it pretty easy to follow.
    She doesn't have a clue on the ribbons she won...She does though know you. I don't think she will have a problem with you training her further. Just be fair and watch the signs....Be careful of the e-collar and seek help if needed....Four years is a lot of trust you have in between....