Got this in a PM from a friend who wanted my opinion. Unfortunately her PM box was full.
So here it is. Comments?
Here's a hypothetical. Derby. Last series. Dog has run nearly perfect three series. On last bird down in fourth series. Dogs eyes flick --handler is in training mode. Quietly says "sit", Handler realizes mistake. Judge gives dog a number. Dog is sent for the go bird. As dog is returning judge asks handler if he wants to continue and pick up memory bird. Handler says of course and sends dog for memory bird. Absolutely perfect fourth series.
Handler realizes judges do not know rules regarding controlled break in a minor stake and are treating this as an automatic disqualification.
At the conclusion of the Derby judge stops handler and says dog can not be awarded a jam. Despite several other handlers and the marshal showing judge rule book regarding controlled break. Judge insists that dog wasn't going to break and says you can't talk to your dog while birds going down. Handler responds politely "how can you know that I thought dog might be going so I said sit". Which brings up the question of how to stop a break without saying anything in a minor stake.
In the end the judge awards dog a jam saying that in fact except for that quiet sit the dog would have placed either first or second.