The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Baffled

Default Baffled

Ok guys. Bear with me. I am new to this. I have an 8 month old female lab. She has been a little slower than other pups that I have worked with. Her obeideience is solid. She knows what fetch is . She has been retrieving like a champ. Her desire for retrieving has been solid. Two weeks ago she was retrieving like a champ. All of the sudden after about 10 solid and near perfect retreives. She tucks her tail. Hides behind my legs and refuses. I have managed on different days to get good retreives from her. But after a few the same happens. I have not used a collar on her. Nor have I had to use anything other than harsh words to get obeince. Her personality seems to be more timid than what I've seen out of other labs.and wonder how I can get her through this or if I should break down and begin her on forced retreiver training. I am an amateur and only want a solid hunting dog.

Maybe she is coming in season.
    Jeannie Greenlee

Blazinlakes Legally Blonde CDX JH NAJ RA WC OD (1st Retriever)
    HRCH Smokingold Guns Up CCA WCX CD MH
    https://sites.google.com/site/smokingoldretrievers/home

It's possible. Her behavior has shown that.

If she gives you 10 perfect retrieves try quitting at 6 or 7

The number that she retreives and "locks up" has gradually declined to that. Today I got 3 and a fun bumper from her before she locked up on me. I'm trying to encourage her by as much positive encouragement as possible. At the begining,she is happy and ready to go. After a few retreives she quits. I have help train several labs and a couple of my own. And I have never seen this from any lab .

does she have her adult teeth or is she teething?

Meredith