The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sit on Whistle

Default Sit on Whistle

I am fairly new to the retriever world. Very avid hunter and have a dog who is up to par on everything on the beginner level. He is ready for hand signals but first he needs to be great on "sitting on the whistle". What are some drills and things I can do for him to grasp the idea? Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Bandit, are you following any formal training program such as smartworks, Lardy's TRT, or other? You can teach the sit whistle when you are healing your dog on lead and command sit, followed with a single toot of the whistle. Eventually you can replace the verbal sit command with just a single toot. But there is much more to all this, and there are programs to formally take you through all the steps one by one. I would recommend looking in to those.
    Southland Dixe's Hunter Boy, JH (Hunter)
    Triple J's Hotta Habanera Mo Betta, (Mo)
    Freezeland's Carbon Squared, (CC)

I have been working with him on this drill. He sits, and I walk twenty yards away, turn around and tell him his release word. On his return to me (about 10 yards away), I blow whistle and he (half way) creeps with his rear end almost dragging the ground until he finally sits about 5 yards away from me. He drags his rear end for anywhere from 5-10 yards almost everytime. He is collar conditioned. When should I and how should I correct him with the E-Collar?

Quote Originally Posted by TheBandit View Post