The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media

Thread: Going to be gone. What to do with pup?

Default Going to be gone. What to do with pup?

My pup is 6 1/2 months old right now and is doing just fine. We are training daily for short sessions 1-2 times a day and everything is going great. We are going to start FF soon. My problem is that I am a college student at Auburn University and I am going to have to be gone during the summer for 6 weeks to go to forestry practicum. Being a college student, my budget is very, very low. I won't be able to work my dog but 1 or 2 weekends during them 6 six weeks because my only choice now is to leave her at home with mom and dad(six hours from where I will be) How bad is this going to set my pup back being out of training for 6 weeks? What would y'all do in this situation? Thanks.
    Hunt Hard, Dream Big, Aim Small
    Matthew 6:26
    War Eagle's AJ Abigail "Abbie"

Better to leave her with your family. Pick up where you left off when you return. I would wait on FF until you return. Good luck to you. IMO
    HRCH Scaupgetters Tarnation QAA
    http://www.huntinglabpedigree.com/pedigree.asp?id=83047
    HR Blackie 2 CGN, WCI
    Metras's Hashtag Mickey
    http://www.huntinglabpedigree.com/pedigree.asp?id=83051

"Knowing how important right timing is in accomplishing right actions"
    Uncle Ray

leave her with the folks if they will follow the ground rules you set forth, and you will want to establish some rules for sure, just to avoid setbacks. otherwise, I would say send her to a pro for FF while you are away, and then pick back up with basics etc when you pick her up. IF you present the second option to your folks in the proper light- highlighting the advantages it has for THEM... you may be eligible for financial assitance...