The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How to put a dollar value on a retriever.

Default How to put a dollar value on a retriever.

I am curious what the dollar value is on retrievers if i were to sell/buy them. I'm a trainer and have worked for a top notch training facility but have not dealt with the values of the dogs themselves. What would a ball park value be for labs that have went through ob, ff, singles, doubles, gun training and are fully ready to hunt with excellent drive and excellent perfomance? Also what would the difference be for the same dog without papers? How much value does 3 handed casting add when selling a dog?
    "if it flies it dies.....if it sits there, it dies too" - Phil Robertson

the answer is it depends. lol. Without papers, not much because you can't register them to breed. I've seen started dogs go anywhere from $2k-4500 with papers, currently up to date on shots, and SHR or JH title. maybe even HR title but that would require casting. It depends on who your marketing to, that person's intent(FT, Hunt Test, strictly hunting, breeding), and the dog. Your not going to be able to get someone to pay for a dog without papers unless they are using it strictly for hunting and have no intentions of running any kind of competition and even then, a lot of people want a full blooded dog with papers.

Another thing that could impact the price would be age and health clearances

It depends... If you are getting a divorce and the wife wants the value... The mutts aren't worth the food you feed them.

And some will try...
    Bill Davis

Quote Originally Posted by huntinman View Post
    It depends... If you are getting a divorce and the wife wants the value... The mutts aren't worth the food you feed them.

And some will try...