The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Lets talk about HT vs FT

Default Lets talk about HT vs FT

So i'm pretty new to the HT/FT community. I an currently starting to run hunt test, have gotten addicted to training and wondering about Field Trials. How come you don't see a lot of people running both? I haven never been to a Field Trial and understand that distances are longer and it is dog against dog instead of dog against standard. How do people train differently?(other than distance) I would like to possibly start running FT when I get my dog to an HRCH/MH title. Just curious in the major differences. I don't quite understand the differences in the titles either but I'm sure the rule book has those. Don't be too harsh, I'm new to the whole sport and want to run my dog in just about anything I can but from what I've read/talked to others about, you need atleast a HRCH dog before even being about to compete in a FT. I'm sure this subject has come up before but I think it would be a good thread for new comers like me to the sport. I've also seen stuff on SRS but haven't even looked into it except a quick glance at the website.

I am one that competes in both. I am on my first dog and the training group that I got involved with does FT, but I started in HT. I ran a few club derbies, just to support the club and run my dog, since I was there to help anyways. I got a SH on my dog, and started running Qualifying stakes in FT at the same time I was running Master stakes in HT. I ended up getting him QAA before I got the MH title on him.

It is doable. It is attainable. The two main differences between HT and FT.

1. Distance. HT is limited to 100 or 150 yards or less. FT is not limited. You can see 100 yards marks or shorter, and you can see 400 yard marks or longer.