The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Would you rather train....

Default Would you rather train....

Would you rather have to train in excitement/retrieving or OB in a puppy?

I'm new to training and have a selection between 2 pups. One is rambunctious with a great desire to retrieve and adventurous, but she doesnt sit still much and isnt too interested in me unless I have something to throw. While her sister is much less into retrieving but way more interested in me and capable of being picked up without a struggle. Shes more cautious when exploring new places as well.

I'm totally stuck as I like the drive of the 1st but the pup will be indoors a lot and the calm demeanor of the 2nd would be nice. I've been watching Hillmann and he has pups that remind me of both, but his videos dont focus much on how they are inside! Maybe If I watched further in the video Id know which dog was easier to train...

Thoughts?

Seems like only a question you could answer.....

What's your level or training...... Will dog 1 be too hot for you?

How much time do you have to train?

Will the dog go to a pro or will you be the only one training?

You can always take drive out (on/off switch) but you cant put drive into a dog that doesn't have it IMO
    Sargent Taylor's Hevi-Shot (Sarge)

Ask yourself one question, "What are your goals for this pup?" How much time have you spent around these two dogs? Maybe you caught one after a long nap, and the other after romping around for a while. I'd ask the breeder more about their personalities on daily basis. I'd rather teach a high drive dog to be obedient, rather than try to put drive into a dog.
    Last edited by Rick S; 07-01-2014 at 09:35 AM.

How old are they? Just because she doesn't show the desire to retrieve now doesn't mean anything.