The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media

View Poll Results: Would you purchase Pet (Health/Life) Insurance?

Voters
35. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

8 22.86%
  • No

18 51.43%
  • Already have it

9 25.71%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pet Insurance?

Default Pet Insurance?

I am a Financial Consultant thinking about adding a "Pet Line" to my current human services! I would first like to know if it is a need for alot of people out there before I go through the licensing process.

I'd love to hear your opinions and experiences (good or bad) about it as well.

I just read a post on another board from someone wanting mortality insurance for their dog. Other working dogs are covered, but not hunting dogs. The poster was wanting coverage for her dog being killed in a traffic accident, etc.-not from a hunting accident.

Default Insurance

I had purchased pet health insurance thru the AKC and would not take it even if they gave it away free. Every time i tried to use it as per the policy it was denied.They loved to get the monthly premium but hated paying out. When i cancelled the policies the just kept billing me. It took over a year to get them off my back and stop sending me bills for coverage i no longer had.

I find it easier to keep an emergency fund fo the dogs rather than get insurance or just use a credit card.

I might consider a accidental death/loss of services/theft policy if i had a dog that was worth insuring.

Can an insurance policy really put a value on a dog ?