RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

Would you purchase Pet (Health/Life) Insurance?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

• Already have it

Pet Insurance?

3K views 17 replies 9 participants last post by  mildot1 
#1 ·
I am a Financial Consultant thinking about adding a "Pet Line" to my current human services! I would first like to know if it is a need for alot of people out there before I go through the licensing process.

I'd love to hear your opinions and experiences (good or bad) about it as well.

#2 ·
I just read a post on another board from someone wanting mortality insurance for their dog. Other working dogs are covered, but not hunting dogs. The poster was wanting coverage for her dog being killed in a traffic accident, etc.-not from a hunting accident.

#3 ·
Insurance

I had purchased pet health insurance thru the AKC and would not take it even if they gave it away free. Every time i tried to use it as per the policy it was denied.They loved to get the monthly premium but hated paying out. When i cancelled the policies the just kept billing me. It took over a year to get them off my back and stop sending me bills for coverage i no longer had.

I find it easier to keep an emergency fund fo the dogs rather than get insurance or just use a credit card.

I might consider a accidental death/loss of services/theft policy if i had a dog that was worth insuring.

Can an insurance policy really put a value on a dog ?

Lets say you have a spectacular dog with multiple titles that is getting 1500 per stud fee. If he studs 3 x a week x 4 weeks = 12 times a month or 144 times per year thats 216,000 annually.if he did this for 6 years 216000 x 6 = 1,296,000 Plus or minus all the litters he could sire for the owner that could bring 1500 per pup x 10 in a litter becomes 15,000 per litter. Do this 6 times a year comes to 90,000 per year. Over a 6 year period that comes to 540,000.

540,000 + 1,216,000 = 1,756,000 give or take.