The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Gun Dog Broker
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Today is it! Help...

  1. #1
    Senior Member SueLab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Tx
    Posts
    1,216

    Default Today is it! Help...

    This bill will make the first offense a felony but not if the dog is in it's owner's yard. It does not solve the maulings that occur. This bill is not the solution...

    Please send fax even if you live out of state...reference this: Out of state tourists can help us by saying they will not bring their dogs to Texas for vacations, dog shows or any AKC dog performance tests and events

    TX-RPOA E-News
    From Responsible Pet Owners Alliance,
    the reasonable voice regarding animal issues in Texas.
    Responsible Pet Owners Alliance is an animal welfare organization,
    not "animal rights" and, yes, there is a difference.
    Permission granted to crosspost.

    This is it! HB 1355 regarding dangerous dogs can be heard anytime now as
    the legislature is drawing to a close. Legislators are in a frenzy to get
    their bills passed. If the bill isn't amended to be a Class A Misdemeanor
    for a first offense, it MUST be defeated. Please call and fax your own
    senator as Zandra instructs below. Then if you have time, contact all of
    the senators; keep their phones and faxes buzzing. Out of state tourists
    can help us by saying they will not bring their dogs to Texas for vacations,
    dog shows or any AKC dog performance tests and events. All the senators'
    contact information is at the bottom of this message.

    From Zandra Anderson:
    www.TexasDogLawyer.com
    Ok, there is light at the end of this tunnel so let's make sure it isn't a
    train!!! Senate to vote any day now!
    FAX and CALL, CALL & CALL some more!!!

    THANKS!!!
    Zandra
    www.TexasDogLawyer.com
    -------------------------------------------------------
    How to find your Senator and his/her Telephone & FAX #:
    http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/Home.aspx
    Then click on your Senator's name and that will take you to his/her fax
    number.

    Sample Letter for Today:
    _____________________________________
    May 14, 2007
    RE: Opposition to HB1355 as Written

    Vengeance NO; Fairness YES:
    A Fair Solution that is in Keeping with the Intent of the Bill

    FAX (512) ____________________

    Dear Hon. Senator__________________________

    I am opposed to HB 1355 as written but there is a fair solution that is in
    keeping with the bill's intent to make owners responsible for their dogs.

    Amending this Bill will make the owner responsible without being out of line
    with other Texas crimes. I am for the following:

    1. Class A Misdemeanor for the first incident with the dog.
    2. Second/Third Degree Felony if the dog has already been declared
    dangerous.
    3. Add defenses for dogs legally off their owners property like for hunting
    dogs, working dogs, therapy dogs, dogs competing in sanctioned events.
    4. Remove Sec. 822.007 because it is redundant of existing law and I am
    against even the suggestion of this law being breed specific and was not the
    Legislative Intent.

    Sincerely,

    (Your name and address must be included)
    __________________________________
    ALL Senators are addressed:
    PO Box 12068
    Capitol Station
    Austin, TX 78711

    Kevin Eltife
    Phone: (512) 463-0101
    Fax: (512) 475-3751
    Kevin.eltife@senate.state.tx.us

    Bob Deuell
    Phone: (512) 463-0102
    Fax: (512) 463-7202
    Bob.deuell@senate.state.tx.us

    Robert Nichols
    Phone: (512) 463-0103
    Fax: (512) 463-1526
    Robert.nichols@senate.state.tx.us

    Tommy Williams
    Phone: (512) 463-0104
    Fax: (512) 463-6373
    Tommy.williams@senate.state.tx.us

    Steve Ogden
    Phone: (512) 463-0105
    Fax: (512) 463-5713
    Steve.ogden@senate.state.tx.us

    Mario Gallegos
    Phone: (512) 463-0106
    Fax: (512) 463-0346
    Mario.gallegos@senate.state.tx.us

    Dan Patrick
    Phone: (512) 463-0107
    Fax: (512) 463-8810
    Dan.Patrick@senate.state.tx.us

    Florence Shapiro
    Phone: (512) 463-0108
    Fax: (512) 463-7579
    Florence.Shapiro@senate.state.tx.us

    Chris Harris
    Phone: (512) 463-0109
    Fax: (512) 463-7003
    Chris.harris@senate.state.tx.us

    Kim Brimer
    Phone: (512) 463-0110
    Fax: (512) 475-3745
    Kim.brimer@senate.state.tx.us

    Mike Jackson
    Phone: (512) 463-0111
    Fax: (512) 475-3727
    Mike.jackson@senate.state.tx.us

    Jane Nelson
    Phone: (512) 463-0112
    Fax: (512) 463-0923
    Jane.nelson@senate.state.tx.us

    Rodney Ellis
    Phone: (512) 463-0113
    Fax: (512) 463-0006
    Rodney.Ellis@senate.state.tx.us

    Kirk Watson
    Phone: (512) 463-0114
    Fax: (512) 463-5949
    Kirk.watson@senate.state.tx.us

    John Whitmire
    Phone: (512) 463-0115
    Fax: (512) 475-3737
    John.whitmire@senate.state.tx.us

    John J. Carona
    Phone: (512) 463-0116
    Fax: (512) 463-3135
    John.carona@senate.state.tx.us

    Kyle Janek
    Phone: (512) 463-0117
    (800) 445-2635
    Fax: (512) 463-0639
    Kyle.janek@senate.state.tx.us

    Glenn Hegar
    Phone: (512) 463-0118
    Fax: (512) 475-3736
    Glenn.hegar@senate.state.tx.us

    Carlos Uresti
    Phone: (512) 463-0119
    Fax: (512) 463-1017
    Carlos.uresti@senate.state.tx.us

    Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa
    Phone: (512) 463-0120
    Fax: (512) 463-0229
    Email: juan.hinojosa@senate.state.tx.us

    Judith Zaffirini
    Phone: (512) 463-0121
    Fax: (512) 475-3738
    Judith.zaffirini@senate.state.tx.us

    Kip Averitt
    Phone: (512) 463-0122
    Fax: (512) 475-3729
    Kip.averitt@senate.state.tx.us

    Royce West
    Phone: (512) 463-0123
    Fax: (512) 463-0299
    Royce.west@senate.state.tx.us

    Troy Fraser
    Phone: (512) 463-0124
    Fax: (512) 475-3732
    Troy.fraser@senate.state.tx.us

    Jeff Wentworth
    Phone: (512) 463-0125
    Fax: (512) 463-7794
    Jeff.wentworth@senate.state.tx.us

    Leticia Van de Putte
    Phone: (512) 463-0126
    Fax: (512) 463-2114
    Leticia.vandeputte@senate.state.tx.us

    Eddie Lucio, Jr.
    Phone: (512) 463-0127
    Fax: (512) 463-0061
    Eddie.Lucio@senate.state.tx.us

    Robert Duncan
    Phone: (512) 463-0128
    (800) 322-9538
    Fax: (512) 463-2424
    Robert.duncan@senate.state.tx.us

    Eliot Shapleigh
    Phone: (512) 463-0129
    Fax: (512) 463-0218
    Eliot.Shapleigh@senate.state.tx.us

    Craig Estes
    Phone: (512) 463-0130
    Fax: (512) 463-8874
    Craig.estes@senate.state.tx.us

    Kel Seliger
    Phone: (512) 463-0131
    Fax: (512) 475-3733
    Kel.seliger@senate.state.tx.us

    Responsible Pet Owners Alliance
    900 NE Loop 410 #311-D
    San Antonio, TX 78209
    Phone: (210) 822-6763
    Fax: (210) 822-9038
    Website: www. responsiblepetowners. org
    $15 Annual dues (January - December)
    To share information, subscribe or unsubscribe,
    send an e-mail message to rpoa @ texas.net.
    When it quits being fun...we retire!

    Nancy Neipert with
    Skeeter, my avatar (Deepwoods Off and Fly'n High, MH, MNH, MN09,10, 11.
    Gypsy (Windigo Deja Voodoo Gypsy Pearl, D List, QAA, MH) MN10 & to MD11
    Mary (Stellars Proud Mary) first Lean Mac dog
    Ted (Deepwoods Spirit of the Wild), now the baby & Suzie's grandson...
    Suzie (Watermarks Slough Foot Sue, MH, 2000-2011 - Farewell dear companion)

  2. #2
    Senior Member spaightlabs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    504

    Default

    pretty scary that you could potentially lose your ability to purchase a firearm b/c of a first time dog bite...

Similar Threads

  1. Got my Pup today
    By mudduck9196 in forum RTF - Retriever Training Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-13-2009, 07:35 PM
  2. I got my first limit today
    By Fowl Play WA in forum RTF - Retriever Training Forum
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 12-31-2008, 07:43 PM
  3. the picture for today...
    By jeff coats in forum RTF - Retriever Training Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-05-2008, 01:38 PM
  4. Training Today
    By Goldenboy in forum RTF - Retriever Training Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-26-2007, 07:39 PM
  5. Three years old today
    By louisianadukdog in forum RTF - Retriever Training Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-02-2007, 04:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •