The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I'm I doing wrong

Default I'm I doing wrong

Hi, I'm new to the site and first let me say hello and happy to be aboard. I'm a firefighter paramedic her in maryland and the only thing I love greater than that is training with my yellow lab Cheyenne. She is 1.5 yrs old and unfourtunately I lost a lot of time in her training due to paramedic school. But we are moving on nicely and I hope to have her testing for junior soon.

My first question is it wrong to throw toys in the yard for her. She is non-stop energy and loves to retrieve everything. Frisbee, football, basketball. Her favorite is the nerf football that whistles. I try to enforce the same concepts in the yard...ie sit heel steadiness, but probably not to the level I due during training sessions. Please tell me what ya think?

Thanks....Dan
    Dan

Hi smokejmp -- welcome aboard -- Many people will say to never throw anything for your dog other than a bumper or bird, lest they get confused in the field. Right or wrong, I'm here to tell you that my dog knows the difference between business/training (i.e. his bumpers and birds) and playtime (other things) -- I found it most difficult to keep my family from playing with the pup when I wasn't around. We finally settled on anything but bumpers and birds for informal play. The dog does know the difference. Also, to prevent confusion, I do train my pup around decoys and other objects - while training/hunting his only interest is in bumpers or birds. There'll be many who will disagree with me on this but its worked for us.

Default Thanks