RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

helping save a boykin

4K views 19 replies 14 participants last post by  larrynogaj 
#1 ·
A friend of a friend has a 4 month old boykin (sp?) spaniel. Great little dog from good lines. I've seen him and would love to have one like him. The owner just got an e-collar and says that when he gives a "correction" at level 1, the dog goes bananas like it doesn't know what's going on. (which I'm sure is true) The information that I passed on is that the dog is just a puppy and they should just be having fun now. No collar! We're talking a novice here, so I know the pup can't really be "trained" at much of anything yet other than "house trained", a little bit of "sit", general socialization and some fun retrieving. I don't have the experience that many of you have, but I sincerely believe that I'm on the right track. PLEASE! some of you add your "yeas" and "nays" so I can pass them along to get him on the right track. If I'm off base, I can accept that too.
Thanks!

#3 ·
Is the Boykin looking for a new home? He is after all the SC state Dog! Let me know if I can take him off your hands before he gets too messed up!

#5 ·
Not to snipe the thread, but I have thought about a Boykin. Have you guys ever trained one. Are the better at upland or waterfowl?

As far as the thread goes, the guy should be educated, since he may simply be stupid. Then if that doesn't take, he should be kicked in the junk.

tt

#6 ·
What book has he been reading? Maybe you can offer him a good one! They are awsome dogs, that's sad. He's going to screw him up. All the work he should be doing now is on lead work and make it fun!!! I'm not sure but if they have desire you don't want to take it away~ Sometimes people who don't want to listen learn the hard waya nd it's sad the animals have to suffer. Maybe you can find a seminar and have him tag along???
Just some ideas~Good luck! Sometimes you have to be a hard @$$ And come out and tell him like it is, too.

#7 ·