The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Bird Boy Training

Default Bird Boy Training

I remember reading or hearing some where that a well trained bird boy is just about the best training tool there is.

I and a few other locals have been training together for a while now and we have started a fledgling club that's slowly but surely coming together. As you can imagine, several of the "new" members have never really done much formal training. Therefore, they don't really know how to be bird boys.

I was a complete newbie when I started a year or so ago and remember being very unsure as to what I was supposed to do when I was throwing. Thankfully, with much patience, the folks I was working with taught me a lot. I'm better now but still sometimes am a little unclear on when I should help and when I should just be still.

My question is, Is there some training material for bird boys that we could pass along to help these folks out?

There was a thread on here about this topic, but I think it may be one that was “lost” because it seem like it was several years ago. Do a search for “bird boy” and see what you come up. You will have to sort through a bunch of baby announcements titled my new bird boy, but you may find something useful. You might try using BB in the search like but that will probably bring up a lot of Bumper Boy threads as well as bird boy threads.
    Views and opinions expressed herein by Badbullgator do not necessarily represent the policies or position of RTF. RTF and all of it's subsidiaries can not be held liable for the off centered humor and politically incorrect comments of the author.
    Corey Burke

Clark Mason;208301
    I'm better now but still sometimes am a little unclear on when I should help and when I should just be still.