The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Dep't. Homeland Security or I broke a Federal Law today!

Unhappy Dep't. Homeland Security or I broke a Federal Law today!

So, right next door to where I work is the social security building in Burlington, Vermont. Every Saturday I park in the empty Federal parking lot instead of in the city lot. All my coworkers do as well. I have been doing this every Saturday for 26 years. I think of it as getting my moneys worth from the Government. Well this evening looking out the windows we all notice some action in the Federal lot. A Department of Homeland security SUV was there for a very long time, then a tow truck showed up. After about an hour or more a Homeland security officer came to the back door and asked to speak with me by name. Very friendly fellow dressed for combat. Had the high boots with the pants cuffs tucked in, The large hand gun in the tactical holster. Even had a protective vest. So I step outside, his idea. Shake his hand and ask "What's Up" He says "Mr. Bora, you have a hand gun in your truck" I say "Yes I do" He tells me I am breaking a federal law. I cannot park in a Federal Parking lot with firearms in my vehicle. I saw "Wow, I have parked there every Saturday for 26 years, and I always have guns in my truck. He says he knows I park there all the time but this is the first time he noticed any guns. I ask if he wants me to move my truck? He says "Yes because that will be less paperwork than the other alternatives" As we walk over to the truck together I ask about the tow truck. He tells me if things had gone down differently he needed to be prepared to remove my truck. "Differently" I ask? He tells me after he ran my plates and found out I had no wants or warrants he made the decision to speak to me first. "How did you know where I worked" I asked. Because I did not kn