The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media

View Poll Results: What should I do?

Voters
48. You may not vote on this poll
  • Run Senior only and handle him in Master (myself) later.

30 62.50%
  • Strike while the iron is hot, he may be hard to maintain at this level.

18 37.50%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Poll: What should I do?

Default Poll: What should I do?

OK, here goes. I am an amateur trainer who has basically run out of time to train due to family and work issues, so I did something I've never done and I sent my dog to a pro. This will not be a long term arrangement because I cannot justify the cost and because our dog belongs at home with us (try telling my daughter otherwise).

He has only been w/ the pro for 1 month and he passed his first Senior test last weekend (I handled him). He is signed up for 3 more Senior tests in the next few weeks. I talked to my pro yesterday and he said that my dog is doing so well that he thinks that HE (not I) could get a Master pass on him at the end of this month (where he is already signed up for Senior). He said we could "double stake" him (I didn't know you could do that) and I could handle him in Senior and the pro could handle him in Master. He said he isn't ready to pass Master with me as his handler since I am not training him regularly. He is NOT trying to pressure me into doing this at all.

To summarize: I never thought I would send a dog to a pro, but I did. I never thought I would have the pro handle my dog in a test, but I am now considering it. So, should I just wait and handle him in all of his tests or should I let the pro handle him in Master?
    ---------------------------------------------
    HRCH "Boomer" MH
    UH HR "Hunter" SH (RIP)

"When you go to a test or a trial, your dog should be underwhelmed." ~ Evan Graham