RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

How much would you charge?

3K views 24 replies 14 participants last post by  Rob G 
#1 · (Edited)
Let me start by saying that I am NOT a professional trainer...but I was wondering what some of you would charge to run somebody elses dog in a HT?

There is a guy that lives near me that heard about my dogs. He's come out to my place a couple of times to train with his dog. He recently approached me about running his dog in some AKC HT's for him.

I was not planning on running any of my own dogs this summer, but would change that if I were to run his. I have 3 dogs that should be ready for some JH passes and one MH if I were to decided to test them.

What would you think would be fair to charge for running his dog? The closest test from me would be about 600 miles round trip plus motel.

Thanks in advance for your input.

Rob

#3 ·
MAN!!!

If I was lucky enough for someone to offer to let me run their well trained dog in a HT---Well-----

I think I'd do it for a diet coke and a POP tart!!

I can only imagine what that must be like!:p

Gooser

#4 ·
Would you split expenses 50/50 regardless of how many dogs you were running (I'd be running 4 of my own to his 1) or would you split it up between dogs (charging him 1/5 of my expenses)?

The other issue is that his dog is not exactly well trained. I told him I would need to work his dog personally for at least a few weeks leading up to the test to insure that his dog was actually ready and to let the dog get used to me running him.

#9 · (Edited)
I would do 50/50. You and him. I wouldn't count the number of dogs.
I disagree... I would go with 50/50 if the friend came along. That way he could help with airing and feeding all the dogs. Plus he would probably would share a hotel room.