The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media

Thread: Looking for info.

Question Looking for info.

Hello all, Pretty new to the board looks like there is tons of good information here and good informative posters also.
    I'm new to hunt tests and have a dog about ready to try for his JH I think. How does the JH work, never been to a hunt test but am planning to be at some very soon! What are the most common mistakes people make with a JH? Our dog is pro-trained for a few months but we are having a hard time spending enough time getting trained ourselves do to commintments,work,school that kind of stuff. Links or just basic info. is appreciated. Thanks for the help all. Once again this is a great board! Bt.

Do NOT touch the dog before taking the bird!
    Do NOT pick up a bird that the dog has dropped, the dog must pick it up
    Once you call for the birds, Do NOT speak to the dog until the judge says dog

Rochester, MN Bob & Ann Heise HiRollerLabs.com

Try not to rush. When you put your hand in to send, count to minimum of 5 before you send the dog in training and at a test. Practice having someone else call a number before you releash in training. Quite often new handlers forget to wait for the judge to call their running order number before releasing the dog, and are dropped.

Try not to rush between the birds. Position yourself to line the dog up with the mark, and watch the dog's breathing. Once the dog lets out a breath and settles, then it's time to call for the next mark.

Print the premium so you know what time the event starts, if there is food on the grounds, where to stay, etc.