The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Gun Dog Broker

Thread: Simplifying Dog Learning Science-Part 3

Default Simplifying Dog Learning Science-Part 3

“Don’t get paralysis from analysis!”

“Don’t point your finger at the problem!” (Use Indirect Pressure)

“Just go train your dog!”

Now guess ‘who said these things?’
    None other than Rex Carr. They are words of wisdom. I follow them religiously despite my scientific background and interests.

Understanding all of this stuff well enough to use the terms and incorporate into everything you do is a difficult task. It does not come easily for most of us. I hope that your main response to Part 1 and 2 is to think about what you are doing from the dog’s point of view-nothing more-nothing less. What is he doing in his mind?

As a trainer I like to focus on increasing good behaviours rather than stopping bad behaviours (helps me teach instead of test).

I try to say “I want my dog to sit nicely on line” instead of “I want to stop my dog from creeping”. I have become better at the way I use praise or an aversive and when I give it or remove it.

For me, retriever training is an endless journey in which I never know for sure how to get there or where I will end up. The journey itself is the biggest reward- I enjoy it! The Blue is just dessert!

“Amen!” The end of my sermon.
    Dennis

Aren't you the guy who comes over here to train in the summers? There is someone who comes with a big dog trailer and says "online retrievers of retrievers online" something... If you are here next summer, why don't you run some of our sweet tests?! If it is you anyhow...

Thanks for posting your info here by the way....
    Last edited by DEDEYE; 12-28-2008 at 11:33 AM.
    Princess Darla of Nottingham MH ***
    Copper's Darlin' Rascal "Spanky" ***
    Spanky's Darlin Rascal "Wheezy"

Yellow dogs rule the world!