The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media

Thread: Riding in the truck?

Default Riding in the truck?

I've got an 11 week old BLF. Everything's going great, doing a couple of 5 minute sessions a day. Just throwing a canvas dummy 3 or 4 times, a little sit, here, and mainly just trying to develop the bond. Introduced her to water last week and she loves it. She's also doing great with crate training and has had very few accidents in the house.

My question is this, I'm a contractor and I've been taking her with me when I go check on jobs we've got going and when I go to the gym and things like that. She's been riding in the front of the truck and then when we get where were going I'll put her in the crate in the back of the truck while I'm away from it. She's been doing great with this. Not that I'm in any big hurry to have her ride in the crate, but when and under what circumstances should I introduce her to riding in the back? (in the crate, of course) I dont want to just throw her in it and take off down the highway when she's been used to riding in the front. How do yall approach this?

I may be overthinking this thing but I want her to have good "crate manners". One thing that drives me damn crazy is hearing a dog in a crate or box whine and bark. I want to make sure I get this part right so I dont make her dislike the crate because right now she loves it and she never whines or yaps in it.

Thanks in advance, Chris

chris