The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Gun Dog Broker
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Want to learn about FTs

Default Want to learn about FTs

I've run hunt tests with my last chessie, but never got exposed to field trials. I'm interested in learning about them, but being a newbie I don't know the best process to become familiar with them. I've read numerous threads about them and have read the rules & regulations, but know reality and how the trials are conducted probably are different than my interpretations.

There appears to be a FT starting tomorrow (april 10) with the Middle TN ARC at the percy priest wma, which is basically in my back yard. I'd like to go out and witness some of the FT. To those who run FTs, do you recommend a particular day (since it runs for 3 days) to be better for learning and understanding how FTs work?

Thanks in advance for any advice! If anyone is attending the FT this weekend at Percy Priest it would be great to meet you!

Go and watch all 3 day if you can . Make sure you try and see a little of each stake , so you know what is going on.
    ________
    Juggalo
    Last edited by Tom H.; 02-22-2011 at 07:07 PM.

Go to the open armed with a pad of paper,colored pens, and draw diagrams of the tests,make notes of what you have seen and if by some chance have a video camera shoot plenty of film, if you ask someone to borrow their program or have a chance to copy the running order from EE keep a close eye on the FC AFC's and some of the big name trainers....if you really want to make friends, introduce yourself to a marshal and volunteer to help out if you have the time
    All my Exes live in Texas

Quote Originally Posted by lanse brown View Post
    A few things that I learned still ring true. "Lanse when you get a gift, say thank you and walk away. When you get a screwing walk away. You are going to get a lot more screwings than gifts"