The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Gun Dog Broker
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Novice Trainer Confusion

Default Novice Trainer Confusion

OK, let me first set the stage before I ask my question, I am totally new to retriever training, but not to duck hunting. I recently got a yellow lab puppy who is currently 12 weeks old. My question is one of phelosophy and training. I would like to get Reno (that's his name) to work with me when I am hutning, he does not have to be a "finished" dog doing blind retrieves, etc. I have read multiple articals from many sources that all conflict as to how to train a retiever. Some say to teach the basics you need to introduce them to bumpers early so they think of it as a game, other sources claim that this introduction can be detrimental because the dog should see it more as a job. At the present time, he is exibiting some basic retreaving habbits (if I toss or roll a ball he will bring it back and plop it in my lap), but other than the sit come stay and a little heel he is pretty green. He will sit and stay for about 30 seconds even when I roll the ball out so I am wondering when I can introduce a bumper and see what happens...... Also, should I reward him with a piece of dog food for bringing it back and putting it in my hand (no food if dropped)? A buddy of mine used this to condition his dog and it seems to have worked without 1/2 the pain of other methods......

HI foresterpoole,

Welcome to RTF

Why not introduce your pup to bumpers? they should be fun throughout his life....However I do like paint rollers for youngsters...they are easy to carry and pups seem to like them.