The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Puppy question: Should I be concerned?

Default Puppy question: Should I be concerned?

I have a ten and a half week old lab. I am new to dog training, so i bought a couple book and read them. But they do not have much info on puppy training. I have started treat training with sit, kennel, heal, come, and down all is going very well with that, but my pup is not very enthusiastic about retrieving. I know he is young, but i keep the retrieves to 1-3 at a time. Sometimes he will do well for the 2-3 throws, so i put the bumper up. Other times on the first throw he will plop down and start chewing on the bumper and when i call him he comes but leaves the bumper. So i put it up. I have tried paint rollers and puppy bumpers. He loves wings and i just introduced him to birds and he was very enthusiastic about them. Should i be concerned? Should i only play fetch with him one time a day for now? Does anybody have any recomendations?
    Last edited by carte1be; 06-11-2009 at 10:18 AM.

Let the puppy be a puppy and bond to you and your family. Keep it fun for now.
    Huntsman Tollers
    Matt & Julie Martin

Transchoptankia, DEMOCRATIC Peoples Republic of Maryland

Don't sweat it. Little pups have a very short attention span and can be easily distracted. The most important thing is that the pup learn how to learn at his age.
    Bob Gutermuth
    Canvasback Chesapeakes
    ROLL TIDE!

Sounds like a normal puppy to me.

Quote Originally Posted by Latisha View Post
    Sounds like a normal puppy to me.
    Me too. You can also throw a favorite toy instead of a bumper if you are worried about retrieving, but less is better than more. Make him want the next retrieve or end on a positive note.
    Nancy P